Claremore Daily Progress

July 10, 2013

Jones appointed to commission addressing state Capitol repairs

Staff Reports
Claremore Progress


House Speaker T.W. Shannon  has appointed former State Rep. Tad Jones to a commission that will address Capitol repairs and the long-term management of state assets.
The Long Range Capitol Planning Commission was recreated with a new mission by Shannon’s House Bill 1910, which was signed into law this year. 
Under the new law, the commission will be responsible for developing a pay-as-you-go plan to repair the Oklahoma State Capitol and an eight-year plan for the management of state assets.
“Representative Tad Jones was a key figure in the House during his long service to the citizens of Oklahoma and I think his experience in working with state legislators and state agencies will serve the commission well,” Shannon said.
Jones, the current executive director of the Grand Lake Association, will serve a two-year term. Jones served in various leadership roles during his time in the Oklahoma House of Representatives, including the role of majority floor leader.
Shannon also appointed  Chesapeake Oilfield Services CEO Jerry Winchester and  Norman Chamber of Commerce President and CEO John Woods.
Winchester will serve a one-year term. As the chief executive of the second-largest producer of U.S. natural gas, he is a good fit for the oversight of state assets, Shannon said.
“Jerry Winchester will bring decades of business experience to the management of state assets and I could not be more pleased to find him willing and ready to serve on the commission,” said Shannon, R-Lawton.
 Woods will serve a three-year term on the commission. 
Prior to joining the Norman Chamber, he worked at the Oklahoma House of Representatives.
 “John Woods will bring a business and community perspective to the commission,” Shannon said. “He also brings his experience of working with legislative leaders to the commission. I am highly confident in his abilities and judgment.”
 All three appointments will be eligible for reappointment to four-year terms following the completion of their first term.