Claremore Daily Progress

Our View

March 3, 2014

Senate Review - Sean Burrage

OKLAHOMA CITY —

This time last year, the Legislature had been told that, thanks to modest growth, there would be an increase of $212 million to appropriate to our schools, public safety, health and mental health, and many other areas of service vital to thousands of our citizens right here  in Rogers and Mayes Counties.
Even though none of those areas of government had been made whole after years of budget cuts as a result of the national recession, the powers that be in this building decided this would be the perfect time for a tax cut. 
Mind you most Oklahomans would only see literally pennies a day, if that—but they wanted to be able to say they were making sure Oklahomans were keeping more of their hard-earned money. 
I guess technically they were right—even though it meant giving them less of the services that impact every community of our state. Less money for our classrooms. Less money for our colleges and universities. Less money for CareerTech. Less money for public safety. Less money for our county health departments. The list goes on and on.
Many of us felt it was a blessing when the State Supreme Court tossed the tax cut law out because it violated the single subject rule—which many of us argued would happen when the bill was presented on the floor.
Flash-forward to this year. Instead of an increase in $212 million to appropriate, we are actually dealing with a decrease in revenue of $188 million. 
Even less to appropriate, while gaps in funding for all of those services I talked about have yet to be truly addressed. 
As the bill was presented on the floor this week, I asked one of the authors repeatedly—do you think we adequately fund education in Oklahoma?  
I was told what the appropriation level was last year. I was told what percentage of the budget last year went to education, and specifically to public schools. 

Text Only
Our View
  • randyc3-28-12web.jpg Primary election reflections

    As I was driving home from Claremore late Tuesday night, I heard the Eagles’ classic — “I’ve got a peaceful easy feeling....”  — playing on the radio.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • BAILEYDABNEY8-2009.tif DA primary election crucial

    Tuesday’s Republican Primary for District Attorney of Rogers, Craig and Mayes counties is, by far, the most critical race on the ballot. The prolonged clash between the DA’s office and local law enforcement agencies has disrupted the once harmonious local justice system.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Burrage, sean.tiff Senate review by Sean Burrage

    Hailey Mathis is studying political science and history at the University of Oklahoma. She’s one of a very select group of college students each year who have the opportunity to learn about government and public service through an internship at the State Senate.  

    April 4, 2011 1 Photo

  • Inhofe-Jim-colorcmyk.jpg State, local voice is pivotal in education

    For many years at Edison High School in Tulsa, Okla., my wife, Kay, dedicated her life to teaching and mentoring young students, never knowing that in the years to come, two of our children would follow in their mother’s footsteps, building classrooms of their own and impacting the lives of so many young people.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Randy Cowling D-Day heroes are never forgotten

    Without a second thought, they answered the call to serve.

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Senate Review

    A couple of weeks ago, I shared information about the Reading Sufficiency Act (RSA), a measure approved in 2011 requiring a reading test at the end of the third-grade year to make sure each child was reading at grade-level. 

    May 12, 2014

  • GovFallin-at-RSUweb.jpg In death penalty debate, remember the victims

    Last week, the state of Oklahoma conducted the lawful execution of Clayton Lockett, a man who was convicted of first degree burglary, assault with a dangerous weapon, kidnapping, robbery by force and fear, forcible oral sodomy, rape and first degree murder.

    May 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Veto pen

     House attention last week was focused on conference committees and on the slew of bills the governor vetoed.

    May 6, 2014

  • Kim Dabney Different not Less

    What other childhood epidemic has received so little attention? April’s Autism “Awareness” month is almost over but nothing has changed.  

    April 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Senate Review

    April 15th was the deadline for filing taxes.  I’m certain it’s no one’s favorite time of year, but here’s something that may help give a little perspective—at least as far as state taxes go.  

    April 21, 2014