Claremore Daily Progress

Our View

March 9, 2014

Senate Review

OKLAHOMA CITY —

Of all the responsibilities and duties required of the members of the Oklahoma Legislature, I believe the most important job we are entrusted with is our constitutional mandate to write and pass a balanced budget each session.  
There are two reasons I feel the budget is our most important job.  First of all, the decisions we make about the budget—how much state agencies are appropriated to provide the services our citizens depend on—ultimately affect every single person in our state, not just in that budget year, but for years to come. 
The budget determines the quality of our schools, and the level of access our citizens and their children will have to higher education and CareerTech.  It affects the access they will have to health and mental health care.  It affects the ability of law enforcement and corrections officers to protect law abiding citizens.  It’s about our infrastructure, including roads, bridges, access to clean water and even the upkeep and repair of state facilities.  It determines our quality of life and can enhance or undermine our efforts to create more and better jobs in Oklahoma.
The second reason is, we make all these decisions with your money—your tax dollars are what fund these core services of government.  If we invest wisely, our state benefits now and in the future.  If poor decisions are made, it is to the detriment of all of us.  Because of all of these reasons, we have a moral obligation to be good stewards of the public’s money.
This session I introduced Senate Bill 1980, aimed at helping all citizens better understand how their tax dollars are being used.  The measure would require the Office of Management and Enterprise Services (OMES) to include a “Taxpayer Receipt” function on its existing “Open Books” website.  This would allow a taxpayer to enter their income and estimated sales taxes they paid and see how those dollars were allocated as mandated by state law.  The receipt would provide Oklahomans with a good estimate of how their tax dollars may be used. 

Text Only
Our View
  • randyc3-28-12web.jpg Primary election reflections

    As I was driving home from Claremore late Tuesday night, I heard the Eagles’ classic — “I’ve got a peaceful easy feeling....”  — playing on the radio.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • BAILEYDABNEY8-2009.tif DA primary election crucial

    Tuesday’s Republican Primary for District Attorney of Rogers, Craig and Mayes counties is, by far, the most critical race on the ballot. The prolonged clash between the DA’s office and local law enforcement agencies has disrupted the once harmonious local justice system.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Burrage, sean.tiff Senate review by Sean Burrage

    Hailey Mathis is studying political science and history at the University of Oklahoma. She’s one of a very select group of college students each year who have the opportunity to learn about government and public service through an internship at the State Senate.  

    April 4, 2011 1 Photo

  • Inhofe-Jim-colorcmyk.jpg State, local voice is pivotal in education

    For many years at Edison High School in Tulsa, Okla., my wife, Kay, dedicated her life to teaching and mentoring young students, never knowing that in the years to come, two of our children would follow in their mother’s footsteps, building classrooms of their own and impacting the lives of so many young people.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Randy Cowling D-Day heroes are never forgotten

    Without a second thought, they answered the call to serve.

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Senate Review

    A couple of weeks ago, I shared information about the Reading Sufficiency Act (RSA), a measure approved in 2011 requiring a reading test at the end of the third-grade year to make sure each child was reading at grade-level. 

    May 12, 2014

  • GovFallin-at-RSUweb.jpg In death penalty debate, remember the victims

    Last week, the state of Oklahoma conducted the lawful execution of Clayton Lockett, a man who was convicted of first degree burglary, assault with a dangerous weapon, kidnapping, robbery by force and fear, forcible oral sodomy, rape and first degree murder.

    May 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Veto pen

     House attention last week was focused on conference committees and on the slew of bills the governor vetoed.

    May 6, 2014

  • Kim Dabney Different not Less

    What other childhood epidemic has received so little attention? April’s Autism “Awareness” month is almost over but nothing has changed.  

    April 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Senate Review

    April 15th was the deadline for filing taxes.  I’m certain it’s no one’s favorite time of year, but here’s something that may help give a little perspective—at least as far as state taxes go.  

    April 21, 2014