Claremore Daily Progress

Our View

April 7, 2014

Senate Review

OKLAHOMA CITY —

I can’t imagine that there would be very many politicians who would say they didn’t think public education was important.  I’m sure if you polled the legislature, 100 percent would say it’s a top priority.  But it’s one thing to talk the talk—it’s another to walk the walk.  
Oklahoma is one of the worst states in the country for education funding.  Reforms like smaller class sizes and more competitive teacher pay that were enacted 24 years ago with House Bill 1017 have been undone by budget cuts in recent years.  One national study said Oklahoma cut education funding during the recession more than any other state, and we have yet to restore funding to pre-recession levels.
We demand that our schools do more to raise achievement levels in math, reading and other areas, but we don’t give them the resources they need to do it.  We enact reforms that require tremendous time and funding at the local level to meet those mandates, and then change things again at the last minute.  
It’s a wonder more of our educators haven’t left Oklahoma for teaching jobs in states that pay more, or left the profession altogether.  
It would be hard to blame them if they did—but overwhelmingly, our talented, dedicated teachers stay.  They’re here because they love teaching, and they understand how important it is for our children’s future.  But they need our help.
This past week, 25,000 teachers, students, parents and other education supporters came to the Capitol to ask for that help.  One sign said it all—“Our kids are worth it.”  It was my pleasure to visit with everyone who traveled to the Capitol from Rogers and Mayes Counties, and to stand with them at the rally.
It was disheartening that the very next day a Senate Committee approved the House version of a bill to further cut the state income tax.  But on Wednesday, the Appropriations Committee overwhelmingly approved a bill that could eventually pump $600 million new dollars into education.  I’m a Senate co-author on the legislation, which was brought to the committee by Republican Senator Jim Halligan, a former president of OSU and Chair of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Education.  It calls for redirecting half of the yearly increase in funds that currently goes to roads and bridges to education.  Transportation would still receive an increase each year, but so would education.

Text Only
Our View
  • randyc3-28-12web.jpg Primary election reflections

    As I was driving home from Claremore late Tuesday night, I heard the Eagles’ classic — “I’ve got a peaceful easy feeling....”  — playing on the radio.

    July 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • BAILEYDABNEY8-2009.tif DA primary election crucial

    Tuesday’s Republican Primary for District Attorney of Rogers, Craig and Mayes counties is, by far, the most critical race on the ballot. The prolonged clash between the DA’s office and local law enforcement agencies has disrupted the once harmonious local justice system.

    June 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Burrage, sean.tiff Senate review by Sean Burrage

    Hailey Mathis is studying political science and history at the University of Oklahoma. She’s one of a very select group of college students each year who have the opportunity to learn about government and public service through an internship at the State Senate.  

    April 4, 2011 1 Photo

  • Inhofe-Jim-colorcmyk.jpg State, local voice is pivotal in education

    For many years at Edison High School in Tulsa, Okla., my wife, Kay, dedicated her life to teaching and mentoring young students, never knowing that in the years to come, two of our children would follow in their mother’s footsteps, building classrooms of their own and impacting the lives of so many young people.

    June 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • Randy Cowling D-Day heroes are never forgotten

    Without a second thought, they answered the call to serve.

    June 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Senate Review

    A couple of weeks ago, I shared information about the Reading Sufficiency Act (RSA), a measure approved in 2011 requiring a reading test at the end of the third-grade year to make sure each child was reading at grade-level. 

    May 12, 2014

  • GovFallin-at-RSUweb.jpg In death penalty debate, remember the victims

    Last week, the state of Oklahoma conducted the lawful execution of Clayton Lockett, a man who was convicted of first degree burglary, assault with a dangerous weapon, kidnapping, robbery by force and fear, forcible oral sodomy, rape and first degree murder.

    May 6, 2014 1 Photo

  • Veto pen

     House attention last week was focused on conference committees and on the slew of bills the governor vetoed.

    May 6, 2014

  • Kim Dabney Different not Less

    What other childhood epidemic has received so little attention? April’s Autism “Awareness” month is almost over but nothing has changed.  

    April 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Senate Review

    April 15th was the deadline for filing taxes.  I’m certain it’s no one’s favorite time of year, but here’s something that may help give a little perspective—at least as far as state taxes go.  

    April 21, 2014