Claremore Daily Progress

Top Stories

February 11, 2013

Candidates file for municipal elections

CLAREMORE — Municipal candidates have been announced for the upcoming non-partisan general election set for April 2. Claremore had open positions in Wards 1-4.

If elected, each candidate will serve four years —Ward 1 Claremore-Paula Watson; In Ward 2 Don Purkey will run against Dwayne Caldwell; Ward 3 Buddy Robertson and Ward 4 Bill Flanagen.
Catoosa has three four-year term positions available as well as a two-year position for  Ward 3 on the City Council. 
Filing for office were Ward 1 Catoosa Brenda Conley; In Ward 2 Sandra Myers will run against Thomas Sweet.  In Ward 3 Greg Williams will run against David Watt and Ward 5 Ralph McLaughlin. 
Verdigris had trustee openings for four-year terms in Ward 1 and 3 as well as a position for town clerk. Ward 1 position has not been filled, Keith L. Crawford filed in Ward 3, and Susan Beck filed for Town Clerk.
 Filing for Inola Trustee positions are Greg Lawrence, Bobby Kasten, Craig Savage, Peggy Harlow. Glenda Spurlock filed for treasurer. Each position is four years.
In Oologah, John Dirickson file din Ward 2 and Janet Miller will run against Mat Shockley in Ward 4.  Each position is four years.
Filing for Chelsea Trustees two-year terms are Jerry Moss and Bill Woodruff. Trustees for four-year terms are Howard Drake and Mike Provence.
Filing for Chelsea Treasurer’s  four-year term is George Fraley.

Text Only
Top Stories
  • No evidence or human remains found

    Rogers County Sheriff’s deputies and assisting agencies vacated a Tiawah property Friday, after no evidence or human remains were found in connection to the disappearance of a local resident that went missing in 1996.

    July 27, 2014

  • RCLC launches letter campaign

    The Rogers County Literacy Council, RCLC, is launching their annual letter writing campaign.
     A United Way Organization, the council is asking for community support to help promote literacy in the English language.

    July 27, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Inequality crisis shot with factual problems, hypocrisy

    President Obama, various media and political liberals say inequality, of all things, is the defining issue of our times. Yet this message is delivered by multimillionaires and a president who jets from tee time to stump speech on the taxpayer's dime.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Obama wants limits on US company mergers abroad

    Staking out a populist stand ahead of the midterm elections, President Barack Obama on Thursday demanded “economic patriotism” from U.S. corporations that use legal means to avoid U.S. taxes through overseas mergers.

    July 25, 2014

  • Local churches impact poverty

    Claremore First Christian Church, First United Methodist and the Pastoral Alliance are combining efforts to host a 16-week program, “Getting Ahead in a Just Getting by World,” based off of the national program — “bridges out of poverty.”

    July 25, 2014

  • Grand Jury recesses until August

    The multicounty grand jury charged with investigating accusations of misconduct by Rogers County officials recessed Thursday until August 19-21, saying it needed to hear from more witnesses before returning a finding in the matter.

    July 25, 2014

  • Former Sheriff’s deputy arrested

    The Rogers County Sheriff’s Office arrested ex-deputy Brian Kindle Wednesday after receiving multiple reports concerning his safety.

    July 25, 2014

  • Chelsea man receives 54-year sentence for child abuse

    A Chelsea man was sentenced to 54 years in prison Wednesday after he pleaded guilty to the charges of child abuse by injury and child sexual abuse.

    July 25, 2014

  • Rogers County Clerk sues The Daily Progress

    Rogers County Clerk Robin Anderson has filed a lawsuit against The Daily Progress and the newspaper’s government reporter Salesha Wilken.

    July 24, 2014

  • Band.jpg Local band loses everything on tour

    A Claremore band, The Last Slice, had $30,000 worth of equipment, instruments, merchandise and clothes stolen while on the East Coast Ska Revival tour in Miami, Fla.

    July 24, 2014 1 Photo