Claremore Daily Progress

April 11, 2014

Additional filings for county, statewide races

Mark Friedel
Staff Writer

CLAREMORE — Additional candidates filed Thursday for the June 24 primary election. The filing period will remain open until 5 p.m. today.

County candidates include: Republican Cathy Pinkerton-Baker for county treasurer and Republican Scott Marsh for county assessor. Democrat Dell Davis filed for District 3 County Commissioner and will run against Republican Ron Burrows and presiding commissioner Republican Kirt Thacker. Republican Grant Yates filed for the District 1 County Commissioner and will run against presiding commissioner Dan DeLozier.

Rogers County fire district candidates who have filed include: Dan Merkey for Verdigris Fire District seat 2 and Mike Roberts for Foyil Fire District seat 1.

Walton Sunny and Ricky Bruder filed for seats within the Fair Oaks Fire District.

Rogers County Election Board Secretary Julie Dermody said because this is Fair Oaks first year as a fire district, the three district seats are open and are based on the number of votes each candidate receives.

The candidate with the most votes receives seat one, the candidate with the second most votes receives seat two, and so forth, she said.

Local candidates who have filed for state, legislative and judicial offices include: Republican Mark Lepak for State Representative District 9, Republican Terry O’ Donnel for  State Representative District 22, Republican David Derby for State Representative District 74. Republican Marty Quinn will run for State Senator District 2 and Republican Rick Brinkley will run for State Senator District 34.

Judge Sheila Condren will run for State District Judge District 12, office 2 and Dwayne Steidley for District 13, office 2. James Caputo will run against Daman Cantrell for District 14, office 3. Steve Pazzo will run for Rogers County Associate District Judge.

Republicans Erin O’ Quinn, Matthew Ballard and Janice Steidley filed for District Attorney District 12.

Additional candidates will be announced at the end of the filing period today.

For information on current precinct locations or to register to vote, visit, or call (918) 341-2965.

Residents should register to vote before May 30, in order to vote in the June 24 election.