Claremore City Councilors sworn in Monday night

Justin Michael, Will DeMier, Susan Kirtley and Ken Hays were sworn-in to their new seats on Claremore City Council by municipal Judge Stanton Harrell Monday night.

Four council members raised their right hand and took an oath to faithfully serve their city during the Claremore City Council swearing-in ceremony Monday night.

Additionally, the councilors are tasked with the duties of Claremore Cultural Development Authority trustees and Claremore Public Works Authority trustees.

Following the recent local election, Susan Kirtley was sworn in to represent Ward 1.

Kirtley took her seat on the council saying, “I'm just happy to be here.”

Claremore business owner Justin Michael, elected to represent Ward 2, echoed her sentiment and added, “I'm glad to see Claremore growing.”

Ken Hays and Will DeMier were sworn in for Ward 3 and Ward 4, respectively.

“I'm pleased to be a part of city council,” Hayes said, while DeMier took the opportunity to thank the voters who kept him in his council seat.

Mayor Bill Flanagan welcomed the new councilors, “We're glad to have all of you. We'll hopefully make a lot of progress during the next year.”

This Week's Circulars