The primary vote yielded these results: County commissioner Randy Baldridge won his party’s nomination, controversy is brewing for the second position in the County District 1 runoff and Ami Shaffer advances without opposition as the Republican candidate for State Senate District 2.

In the race for District 3 Commissioner, Baldridge swept the primary, receiving 66.5 percent of the vote.

When Baldridge learned the depth of his success, despite an ongoing federal investigation of county operations in his district, he said, “I want to thank all the people who worked hard for me and I want to thank God because without him, this wouldn’t be possible.”

Baldridge addressed workers at his watch party Tuesday evening thanking them for their help and dedication.

Opponents in District 3, county employee Bruce Long garnered only 14.3 percent of the vote while Inola farmer Ken Froese 19.4 percent.

Baldridge will now face Republican Kirt Thacker in November’s general election.

A federal investigation at one of District 3’s warehouses in March of this year has yielded no official results.

County Commission District 1 candidate Dan DeLozier only received just over 25 percent of the vote, throwing that race into a runoff.

Out of the six candidates seeking the Democratic nomination, DeLozier came in first with Shawn Payne receiving 19.61 percent of the vote. The winner of the August runoff will face Republican candidate Ed Long in November.

While votes were being counted in District 1’s eight precincts, both Payne and candidate John Cummings were neck-and-neck. In the end, only nine votes made the difference for Payne.

Talk of a recount between Payne and Cummings has been ongoing, but no official word of that request has yet been received.

About 6:30 p.m., a precinct worker at Eastern Hills Baptist Church wondered out loud about voter turnout.

“We’ve only had 362 vote and that’s not very many,” said Carolyn Harper, who served as inspector at Tuesday’s election. The precinct has nearly 2,000 registered voters.

But that’s how voting went across Rogers County.

According to Rogers County Election Board Secretary Terri Thomas, voter turnout was down this year.

“As of July 1 (2006), we had 47,562 registered voters, and only 9,099 ballots were cast Tuesday,” she said. “In 2004, we had 44,317 registered voters, with 15,667 ballots cast.”


Both Republicans and Democrats cast their votes in the State House District 6 race.

Republican Wayland Smalley will run against Democrat Chuck Hoskin in the general election for State House District 6 seat.

Democrats Wayne Guevara and Carl Weston will face off at the primary runoff in August. The winner of that election will face Republican David Derby in November. Republican Greg Peters, who filed for the office, was removed from the ballot, according to the Oklahoma State Election Board.

Republicans made their opinion clear in the race for State Senate District 2, choosing Ami Shaffer to run against Democrat Sean Burrage in the general election.

Republicans chose the following in state officer races:

Governor: Ernest Istook; State treasurer: Howard Barnett; Insurance commissioner: Bill Case.

Democrats who will face off against the Republican nominees include:

Governor: Incumbent Brad Henry; Commissioner of labor: Lloyd L. Fields.

In the race for Lieutenant Governor, Republicans Todd Hiett and Scott Pruitt will face each other once again in the primary runoff election, as will Democrats Jari Askins and Pete Regan.


Incumbent John Sullivan won the Republican nomination for the U.S. House District 1 seat.

Patrick K. Miller won the Republican nomination and will face incumbent Democrat Dan Boren for the District 2 seat in November.

Oklahoma has a closed primary system which means only Democrats can vote for Democrats and Republicans can only vote for Republicans. Voters registered as Independents will not be voting in the primary because no Independent candidates are listed.

The primary vote is to select a person to represent each party in the November general election.