Twenty-three Democrats and 24 Republicans in 10 different races could attract a record number of voters in Tuesday’s primary election.

Typically, the largest turnout for elections is presidential elections, but Rogers County Election Board Secretary Terri Thomas said the primary election this year may change all of that.

“There are quite a few candidates for commissioner this time,” Thomas said. “That may change how many people vote.”

Currently, there are more than 47,000 registered voters in Rogers County — just over 22,000 Democrats, a little more than 20,000 Republicans and nearly 5,000 Independents.

But that doesn’t mean all will vote.

Oklahoma has a closed primary system which means only Democrats can vote for Democrats and Republicans can only vote for Republicans. Voters registered as Independents will not be voting in the primary because no Independent candidates are listed.

The primary vote is to select a person to represent each party in the November general election.

County voters will be picking Democrat candidates for County Commission Districts 1 and 3, State House District 6 and 74, and join the statewide vote on commissioner of labor, lieutenant governor and governor.

Republicans will be picking candidates for State House District 6 and 74, State Senate District 2, Congressional District 2 and join the statewide vote on insurance commissioner, state treasurer, lieutenant governor and governor.


County Commission District 3’s race for the Democrat nomination finds incumbent Randy Baldridge facing two opponents, another county employee Bruce Long and Inola farmer rancher Ken Froese.

A federal investigation at one of District 3’s warehouses in March of this year has yielded no official results although talk on the streets has some voters questioning their support for at least two of the candidates.

County Commission District 1’s race has not escalated to the “investigation” level, but questions about campaign fairness resulted in a move by the sitting County commissioners to ban all campaigning and signage on county property except “bumper sticker” sizes.

Incumbent Gerry Payne is not seeking re-election for the District 1 seat. Six candidates are: Payne’s son Shawn, and county employees Arthur Mathews and John Jumper, along with John Cummings, Danny Morgan and Dan DeLozier.

Chances for an August run-off are increased due to the number of candidates. To win the party nomination during the primary, the candidate must receive over 50 percent of the total vote.


(House and Senate)

Both Republicans and Democrats will be casting votes in the State House District 6 and 74 races.

On the Republican ballot, voters will choose between Pat Lair and Wayland Smalley in District 6; between Greg Peters and David Derby in District 74.

The Democrat ballot lists three candidates for District 6: Kenny Weast, Henry Flanders and Chuck Hoskins; three candidates for District 74: Wayne Guevara, Stan Brooks and Carl Weston.

Only Republicans will be voting Tuesday in the State Senate District 2 race. The candidates are Bob Brown, Damon Harris, Dale Jackson and Ami Shaffer.

If no August runoff is required in the Senate race, the candidate will face Democrat Sean Burrage in the November general election.

(State Officers)

Republicans will choose candidates from the following:

Insurance commissioner: Tahl Willard or Bill Case; State treasurer: Daniel Keating or Howard Barnett; Lieutenant governor: Todd Hiett, Nancy Riley or Scott Pruitt; and governor: James A. Williamson, Ernest Istook, Jim Evanoff or Bob Sullivan.

Democrats will choose candidates from the following:

Commissioner of labor: Frank Shurden or Lloyd Fields; Lieutenant governor: Cal Hobson, Jari Askins, Pete Regan or Jim Rogers; and governor: Incumbent Brad Henry or Andrew W. Marr, Jr.


Republicans will be choosing candidates for both U.S. representatives in congressional Districts 1 and 2.

Incumbent John Sullivan is being challenged by Evelyn Rogers and Fran Moghaddam for the District 1 seat.

Patrick K. Miller and Raymond J. Wickson each hope to be the name on the ballot opposing incumbent Democrat Dan Boren for the District 2 seat in November.