Don’t get confused.

They have the same last name.

They are brothers.

They are both running for county commissioner.

And, that’s where the similarities end, at least for election purposes.

Ed Long is a Republican running for the District 1 commissioner seat being vacated by long time incumbent Gerry Payne.

Bruce Patrick Long is a Democrat and is running for the District 3 commissioner, a seat currently held by incumbent Randy Baldridge.

Bruce Long’s name was unintentionally omitted from the Monday and Tuesday filing reports published in the Daily Progress and online. He was one of the early filers and is one of three candidates seeking the District 3 Democrat nomination. Baldridge and Ken C. Froese will also be on the July 25 primary ballot.

Republican Kirt L. Thacker has also filed guaranteeing an opponent for the District 3 Democrat nominee.

District 1 county commissioner seat has drawn the largest Democrat candidate field. Six filed for the Democrat nomination: Arthur Matthews, Dan DeLozier, Shawn Payne (son of Commissioner Payne), John Jumper, John Cummings and Danny Morgan.

Republican Ed Long will oppose the final District 1 Democrat nominee on the General Election ballot in November.

Rogers County Treasurer Cathy Pinkerton Baker (incumbent) was the only Democrat to file. She will face Republican candidate Ruth A. Hendrix in the general election in November.

County Assessor Melissa Anderson (incumbent), Democrat, and Tom Johnson, Republican, will face each other for the office of assessor in November.

District Attorney Gene Haynes will run for re-election unopposed.

For the District 12, Office 2 District Judge seat, incumbent Dynda Post will face local attorney Dale Marlar in November. For Office 3 of the District, incumbent Dwayne Steidley will run unopposed.

Newly appointed Rogers County Associate District Judge Sheila A. Condren will run unopposed for her position.

Several seats with area fire districts will be included in the November ballot as well.

Five candidates are seeking Office #1 with the Verdigris Fire Department, including David Warren, Ryan C. Rains, Mark Lewis, R.E. Bert Bertolino, and Mike L. Miller.

Perry Atchley is the only candidate seeking the seat in Office #2 with the Foyil Fire District.

Stuart M. Berry is seeking Office #5 with Northwest Fire Protection District, and candidates for Office #4 are Louis S. Gardner and Eric York.

Max G. Gregory is seeking Office #3 with Limestone Fire Protection District, and Christopher B. Lewis has filed for Office #4.

The Tri-District Fire Protection District has Office #2 up for grabs with Cassie E. Hughes filing for that seat.