Persons interested in municipal seats throughout Rogers County filed recently at the Rogers County Election Board and are scheduled to face-off during the April 4 election. Those without opposition automatically win those seats by default.

In Claremore, two Wards — Susan Kirtley and Scott Savage — garnered no opposition and will automatically win their seat by default. Kirtley will serve four years, while Savage’s term is two years.

Additionally, Ward 4 candidates in Claremore who filed for a four-year term are Will Demier, Bryan McDonald and Frank Church; Ward 3 candidates for the four-year term are Pam Ziriax, Ken Hays and Shelly Taylor; and Ward 2 candidates for the four-year term are Don Purkey, Justin Michael and Mickey Keely.

In Inola, Treasurer Glennie Spurlock and Town Clerk Brandi Powell will take or keep those seats, drawing no opposition. Dan Corle and Thurman Runyan will face off against each other along with Lonnie Chasteen, Darlene Shear and Tommie Grigg for two trustee positions carrying terms of two and four years, respectively.

Chelsea had two seats up for candidacy filings. Town Treasurer George Fraley will remain in his seat for another four years after drawing no opposition. The top three votes for three trustee positions filed by candidates Bobby Wilson, Leah Shankle, Mike Provence and Richard Ploss will be decided after votes are cast in the upcoming election.

The City of Catoosa drew no opposition on any of its four-year term seats. Dale Zerbe will remain as Ward 4; Brenda Conley remains as Ward 1; and Thomas Sweet will keep his Ward 2 position.

Verdigris town clerk Susan Beck, ward trustees Gary Jones, Charles Nadal and Keith Crawford drew no opposition and will win those seats for their respective terms.

Oologah’s Matt Shockley drew no opposition as Ward 4 and will stay in his seat for another four years. No interest was shown in the Ward 2 position, which will be vacant.

The first-ever Claremore City Council candidate forum will be at 6:30 p.m. March 28 at the Claremore Community Center located at 2301 N. Sioux Ave. in Claremore.

Rogers State University Professor Dr. Jeff Gentry will serve as moderator, fielding questions to the candidates.

The last day to register to participate in the April 4 election is March 10 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Rogers County Election Board building located on 415 W. 1st Street in Claremore.

The regular municipal runoff will be on April 4 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

This Week's Circulars