Claremore Daily Progress


June 3, 2006

Filing begins

Candidates register for county, state, federal, judicial seats

Several Rogers County offices will be up for election this year, and filing for those offices begins Monday.

One race has already generated a lot of interest with at least five candidates already announcing — County Commission District 1. Other potential candidates have indicated they will throw their “hat” into the ring for District 1, and also for District 3.

Current District 1 Commissioner Gerry Payne has chosen not to run for re-election, but several candidates have already began campaigning for his seat.

District 3 Commissioner Randy Baldridge, who has served Rogers County for three years, will run for re-election.

Rogers, Mayes and Craig County District Attorney Gene Haynes will be filing for his fifth term.

In addition to county offices, U.S. representatives, state officers, judicial offices and state representatives will be placed on the ballot.

Filing for the offices begins at 8 a.m. Monday, and will end at 5 p.m. Wednesday. Officials with the Rogers County Election Board say they expect to be busy Monday morning receiving filings for various offices.


To be eligible to file for an office, county candidates must have been a registered voter within the county for a six-month period immediately preceeding the first day of the filing period. In order to file for the position of county commissioner, candidates must be a qualified registered elector in that district for six months preceeding the filing date.

U.S. representative candidates must be a resident of the state in which he/she shall be chosen, as well as be at least 25 years of age and a U.S. citizen for at least seven years.

State offices up for election this year include Auditor and Inspector, Insurance Commissioner, Corporation Commissioner, District Attorney, Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Treasurer, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Commissioner of Labor, State Senator, State Representative, District Judge and Associate District Judge.

Text Only

Do you prefer the warm summer weather of 2013 or the mild rainy weather we are currently experiencing?

Hot/Dry Summer
Mild/Wet Summer
I prefer any season but Summer.
I don't have an opinion.
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways