Claremore Daily Progress


September 21, 2013

NTC Health Careers Certification students elect officers


The three Health Careers Certification classes at Northeast Technology Center’s Pryor Campus recently elected student officers for the local HOSA: Future Health Professionals Chapter.
HOSA (Health Occupations Students of America) is a national student organization open to students enrolled in health care courses. With several chapters throughout the United States, HOSA’s mission is to promote career opportunities in the health care industry and to enhance the delivery of quality health care to all people.
The Health Careers Certification classes offered at the Pryor Campus include the standard two-year program where high school juniors and seniors are put in separate classrooms and complete year one under the direction of Instructor Debbie Hendrix and year two under the direction of Instructor Jennifer Ford.  
Upon completion of the two-year program, students are eligible to apply to the NTC’s Practical Nursing program, other LPN programs or college, as well as seek a career in the health care industry.  
The third class is an accelerated one-year program designed for high school seniors and adult learners under the direction of Instructor Laura Perryman. 
It is also a pre-nursing program and students are eligible to apply to the Practical Nursing program upon completion.  
Ford and Perryman’s two senior-level classes combined to elect officers to represent their classes and Hendrix’s class elected its own set of officers. Both groups elected a separate set of officers to represent the morning class and the afternoon class. All student officers were elected by their fellow classmates to serve a one-year term.
The officers elected to represent Ford and Perryman’s combined senior-level morning classes are President Lacey Ferrel from Verdigris High School, Vice President Kelly Garvin who is an adult student from Salina, Secretary Robby Gaile Sanje from Inola High School, two Social Chairmen Bailey Weaver from Pryor High School and Bailey Eastman from Choteau High School, and two Photographers/Historians Kayla Hudson from Claremore High School and Allyson Kimbrough from Inola High School. 

Text Only

Do you prefer the warm summer weather of 2013 or the mild rainy weather we are currently experiencing?

Hot/Dry Summer
Mild/Wet Summer
I prefer any season but Summer.
I don't have an opinion.
     View Results
Featured Ads
AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction