Claremore Daily Progress


March 12, 2013

RSU faculty, student receive top honors

CLAREMORE — A Rogers State University student and two faculty members received honors, including one of the most prestigious awards for theatre educators, during the recent Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival regional event. 

This marks the first time in RSU’s history that it has earned honors at the theatre festival.
Jordan Wong, a fine arts junior from Claremore, earned three awards for her scenery design for this fall’s RSU production of “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.” 
Her scene design was honored with the National Partners American Theatre Design Excellence Award, the regional Meritorious Achievement in Scenic Design and the Stagecraft Institute of Las Vegas Award for Excellence in Technology and Design, which also includes a scholarship for one-week tuition to study stage design in Las Vegas.
Bryce Brimer, associate professor of fine arts, was recognized for mentoring Wong through the design and creation process.
David Blakely, who serves as director of the RSU Theatre program, was awarded the Kennedy Center Medallion, which recognizes extraordinary contributions to teaching and producing theatre. The most prestigious regional award given by KCACTF and considered one of the great honors in theatre education, the Kennedy Center Medallion recognizes those who have demonstrated a strong commitment to advancing theatre and to promoting excellence in educational theatre.
“Teaching for me is more than a vocation, it’s a passion for seeing students discover for themselves the power of live theatre,” said Blakely, who also serves as an associate professor of communications. “Receiving the Kennedy Center Medallion is a tremendous professional honor for me, but it also will increase the regional and national exposure of RSU and our theatre program.”
Held Feb. 26 through March 2 in Shreveport, La., the festival honored excellence of overall production and offered student artists individual recognition through awards and scholarships in playwriting, acting, criticism, directing and design. 

Text Only