Claremore Daily Progress


September 2, 2013

Judge Russell named RSU Constitution Day Award recipient



Russell was nominated by President Reagan in December 1981 to a joint judicial seat for Oklahoma’s Northern, Eastern and Western federal district courts that had been vacated by Frederick A. Daugherty. Russell was confirmed by the U.S. Senate and began serving as district judge in January 1982.
In 1990, he was reassigned by operation of law to serve on only the Western District of Oklahoma, where he served as chief judge from 1994 to 2001. It was during this tenure that he got the courthouse back in operation less than a week after the April 1995 bombing of the Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City. He took senior status on July 7.
Past recipients of the RSU Constitution Award include for U.S. District Judge Claire Eagan, U.S. District Judge Joseph W. Morris, Senior Judge Stephanie K. Seymour, Chief Judge Robert Henry, Gov. Frank Keating, Judge Lee R. West, U.S. Rep. Lyle Boren, Judge Fred Daugherty, Chief Ross Swimmer, U.S. Speaker Carl Albert, Judge William J. Holloway, Jr., Jenkin Lloyd Jones, Gov. Henry Bellmon, Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher, Mayor Patience Latting, Justice Marian P. Opala, Sen. David Boren, Hannah Diggs Atkins, Joint Chiefs Chairman William J. Crowe, Jr., Judge James O. Ellison, Alex Adwan, Judge Thomas R. Brett, G.T. Blankenship, Sen. Charles Ford, Sen. Penny Williams, Sen. Anthony Massad and Gov. George Nigh.
For more information, contact the RSU Office of Development at (918) 343-6816.

Text Only