Darren Peaster of Catoosa was named the Oklahoma Coaches Association 2006 Wrestling Coach of the Year Monday night.

Peaster was the Region III Coach of the Year, which qualified him for the the top state award. There are eight regions in the state.

The Jim Thorpe Award for the state’s top wrestler went to Perry’s 171-pounder Dusty Ward.