Claremore quarterback Noah Grimett was named the Co-Player of the Year in District 5A-4.

Progress Photo/Rick Heaton

Senior quarterback Noah Grimett led a pack of 15 Claremore football players on the 2017 All-District 5A-4 squad.

At the district coaches meeting Tuesday, players for the annual postseason awards were selected, and the Zebras were well represented.

Grimett was named Co-Player of the Year, along with Skiatook’s T.K. Wilkerson.

Grimett threw for 1,936 yards and had 20 touchdowns to just seven interceptions. He also ran 136 times for 604 yards, second on the team, and scored eight TDs.

Mickey Bywaters was named one of four defensive linemen of the year along with Collinsville’s Spencer Oslin, Bishop Kelley’s Davis Govrik, and Pryor’s Trey Carnes. Bywaters had 89 tackles,

20 for loss and four quarterback sacks.

Parker Price was named Co-Outside Linebacker of the Year. The senior had 82 tackles, a sack and two interceptions. He shared the award with Bryce Alonzo of Bishop Kelley.

Two Claremore linemen were named Offensive Linemen of the year — Coby Williams and Liam Johnson. Others named to that list were Justin Demaro of Skiatook, Dontay Woods of Memorial and Terence McClellan of Hale.

Taylor Davis was named the district’s tight end of the year. Davis had three receptions this season for 35 yards, but two of those catches were for touchdowns. He also had 25 tackles and two fumble recoveries on defense.

Others named to the All-District Offense were linemen Ethan Russell and Brendan Guinn.

Those named to the All-District Defensive team were safety Ben Jones, defensive lineman Dakota Cook, and linebackers Montana Huffaker and Jack Meisinger.

Earning honorable mention honors were cornerback Anthony Salazar, defensive lineman Josh Teague and linebacker Brandon Velasquez.

This Week's Circulars