Claremore Daily Progress

December 8, 2013

Foyil’s Pierce named District A-8 top offensive lineman

Tim Ritter
Sports Editor

FOYIL — The key to the Foyil Panthers’ football success over the past four seasons inside McGregor Field has been attributed to the leadership of senior offensive lineman Daltun Pierce’s ability to win the battle in the trenches.

Earlier this month, Pierce was named the District A-8 Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Pierce (6-7, 230) helped the Panthers achieve offensive success throughout the course of four-year high school career while opening holes for quarterback Brett Whitaker and running backs Greg Holsone and Joseph Schubert.

The Panthers, under first-year head coach Otis Crane, wrapped up their season with a 1-9 overall record.

Along with Pierce, Whitaker and Dalas Curry earned honorable mention All-District A-8 recognition.

Summit Christian quarterback Cameron Gilbert received the district most valuable player.

Offensive MVP went to Afton sophomore running back Garrett Gaines.

Defensive MVP went to Afton junior linebacker Blake Wisdom.

Summit Christian senior Caleb Jones earned the district’s inside linebacker of the year, while Afton senior Dalton Shinn was named the outside linebacker of the year.

Afton sophomore Cooper Mitchell received the quarterback of the year award.

Warner senior Clinton Kite was named the running back of the year; while Summit Christian senior Jeremy Polette and Afton junior Casey Pendergraft was tabbed the co-wide receivers of the year.

Afton senior Trevor Maupin received the defensive tackle of the year honor and Fairland senior Jacob Burchette was named the defensive end of the year.

Summit Christian senior Colin Crawford earned defensive back of the year.

Afton freshman Gabe Mustain capped off his season with the special teams player of the year.

Summit Christian senior Haden Farrell received the newcomer of the year.

Liberty senior Harley Stone and Warner senior John Duggan were named the Co-Heart/Injured Players of the Year.

Afton’s Zach Gardner was tabbed the district’s coach of the year.