Claremore Daily Progress

September 17, 2012

Fallin lifts burn bans in 22 Oklahoma counties

Staff Reports
Associated Press

OKLAHOMA CITY — Gov. Mary Fallin has lifted burn bans in 22 Oklahoma counties., but not Rogers County.

The governor had issued a statewide burn ban on Aug. 8 and 55 of the state’s counties remained under that ban on Monday.
Fallin’s office says the ban was lifted in the 22 counties after forestry officials reported improving wildfire conditions, mainly in the east-central part of the state.  Fifty five counties remain under a state-issued burn ban. 
The change in the Burn Ban is due to improving wildland fire conditions and comes at the request of Oklahoma Forestry Services, a division of the Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry.
The Governor’s Burn Ban is now in effect for Adair, Alfalfa, Beaver, Blaine, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Cimarron, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Custer, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Haskell, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, LeFlore, Logan, Love, McIntosh, Major, Marshall, Mayes, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Pontotoc, Rogers, Sequoyah, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods and Woodward Counties.