West wins Will Rogers Memorial video game competition

Watch for a third Super Smash Brothers Tournament in the newly renovated Will Rogers Theatre. The second event, open to older contestants, grew to a group of 23 in tournament competition sponsored by FTW Game Co. and RSU Esports.

In the end Cody West was the top winner and walked off with a $40 FTW gift card.

The event consisted of four group stage battles for seeding in the elimination round. The four second space finalists in the Final Eight, Trevor White, Ashton Huckleby, Braden Hendrix and Ron Wenger, received an FTW gift card.

The Final Four, Logan Head, Seth Walkup, Switzer Cruchon and West, battled in out in the championship match for the first place gift card. West and Cruchon were the last two standing when the match went to the wire with West taking the championship.

Tad Jones, Will Rogers Memorial Museums executive director, said another video game competition, a new event added with the newest capabilities of the Theatre, would be announced soon. Visit www.willrogers.com or the FTW Game Co. Facebook page for a date and details.

Recommended for you