History of Oklahoma City bombing still fresh in classrooms

The Gates of Time mirror off the reflecting pool in the Outdoor Symbolic Memorial at the Oklahoma City National Memorial and Museum in Oklahoma City, Okla.

In recognition of the 25th anniversary of the 1995 Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building, the Oklahoma City Thunder will underwrite admission one day per month during the entire 2020 year. 

Admission will be paid on the 25th of each month beginning Jan. 25 and continue through the calendar year as part of the Thunder's partnership with the memorial.

On April 19, 1995 the Oklahoma City bombing killed 168 people and injured nearly 700. It was the largest domestic terrorist attack on U.S. soil at the time, and U.S. Congress passed the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act of 1996 as a result. 

The organization is also unveiling its 2020 City Edition uniform, which according to the Thunder "accentuates the Memorial’s mission of educating current and future generations about the Oklahoma City community’s response to the tragedy, with a focus on the Oklahoma Standard of service, honor and kindness." The uniform honors the bombing victims, survivors, first responders and the city's resilience in the aftermath. 

“Being able to provide admission to the Oklahoma City National Memorial & Museum is a direct way that we can assist with furthering the museum’s focus on education, reflection and healing,” Thunder vice president of community relations, Christine Berney, stated in a release. “Our hope is that these days will bring in guests who may not otherwise have the chance to visit the grounds and museum, and that they learn something new to share with their community.”

The Thunder have also designed a permanent exhibit at the memorial highlighting examples of the Oklahoma Standard, with learning tools to spread the message to a wide audience. 

The team will wear its new uniforms beginning Jan. 9 vs. Houston. Additional dates are: Feb. 9 vs. Boston, Feb. 21 vs. Denver, March 6 at New York, March 15 at Washington, March 26 vs. Charlotte, April 1 vs. Phoenix, April 7 vs. Brooklyn, April 10 vs. New York and April 13 vs. Utah.

Recommended for you