The field is set for the 2017 Class 5A State Cross Country Championships, scheduled for noon on Saturday, October 28, at Edmond Santa Fe High School.

Both Claremore girls and boys have qualified for the final meet of the season.

The second-ranked Lady Zebras finished runner-up at Saturday's 5A regional in Broken Arrow behind top-ranked Bishop Kelley. Led by defending state champion, sophomore Laynie Nichols and senior Katelyn Alexander, the Claremore girls are one of the top contenders to take the team crown. The Lady Zebras won it all in 2015, and finished third last season.

The Claremore boys finished sixth at the BA regional. Andrew Vanaman, who finished eighth at regionals, will lead his 12th-ranked Zebras into Edmond.

Claremore's Nichols had the fastest regional time (20:12). Coweta's Emerson Turner had a 20:17 and Norman regional winner Gabby Ramos of Guymon clocked a 20:38.

The leading regional time for 5A boys was Guymon's Dereje Himbago at 16:28. Joshua Dick of Tahlequah ran a 17:06 at the BA regional.

Girls State Qualifiers

Team Reg. finish Rank

Elgin 1st West 3

Guthrie 2nd West 8

McGuinness 3rd West 4

Altus 4th West 5

Guymon 5th West 9

Eisenhower 6th West 15

Western Heights 7th West -

Bishop Kelley 1st East 1

Claremore 2nd East 3

Durant 3rd East 6

Collinsville 4th East 12

Coweta 5th East 7

Grove 6th East -

Tahlequah 7th East 11

Additional qualifiers: Kayla McGruder, Tecumseh; Jayce Fallon, Piedmont; Destini Sampson, Ardmore; Samantha Connor, El Reno; Melody Brown, Woodward; Sydnei Storts, Piedmont; Cai Pearcy, Woodward; Riley Schoelen, Carl Albert; Lauren Parton, BTW; Zena Gehring, Edison; Carinne Taylor, Skiatook; Ariah Brese, Glenpool; Tala Thonne, Edison; Allison Baker, Glenpool.

Boys State Qualifiers

Team Reg. finish Rank

Guymon 1st West 3

Piedmont 2nd West 1

McGuinness 3rd West 5

Duncan 4th West 7

Guthrie 5th West -

Noble 6th West -

Elgin 7th West 11

Carl Albert 1st East 2

Santa Fe South 2nd East -

Bishop Kelley 3rd East 4

Tahlequah 4th East 9

Coweta 5th East 6

Claremore 6th East 12

Collinsville 7th East 16

Additional qualifiers: Miguel Ingraham, Eisenhower; Ryan Oden, Altus; Daniel Nickell, MacArthur; Carlos Hernandez, Southeast; Kaleb Tipton, Eisenhower; Kevin Ortega, Western Heights; Marvin Calix, Western Heights; Maverick Brown, Glenpool; Moises Ortiz, East Central; Grant King, BTW; Jake Rattan, McAlester; Dawson Reed, Durant; Aidan Aston, Edison; Tyler Collins, Pryor.

Recommended for you