Sequoyah quarterback Blake Bedsworth, left, prepares to hand the ball off to running back Logan Hattaway during the regular-season finale against Adair on Friday, Nov. 6, at the Pope Athletic Complex. Both earned 2A-8 All-District honors -- Bedsworth as a Quarterback of the Year and Hattaway as a Running Back of the Year.

Despite having to forfeit its postseason berth because of COVID-19 issues, Sequoyah had quite a comeback season in 2020.

The Eagles entered the year on a 21-game losing streak and proceeded to lose the season opener to Inola before winning seven of their final eight games to finish 7-2 with a third-place district finish. Their impressive campaign didn’t go unnoticed by the coaches.

Sequoyah earned several 2A-8 All-District honors, landing ‘Player of the Year’ awards in eight of the 15 categories to go along with six additional All-District selections.

Here is a look at all the district honorees:

Most Valuable Player: Garrett Long, Adair

Offensive Player of the Year: Nate Ratcliff, Adair

Defensive Player of the Year: Dawson Rudd, Sequoyah; Eli Benham, Sperry

Quarterback of the Year: Blake Bedsworth, Sequoyah; Chance Wilson, Rejoice Christian

Running Back of the Year: Logan Hattaway, Sequoyah; BJ Mizulo, Adair; Jack Wilkins, Salina

Wide Receiver of the Year: Jack Davis, Dewey; Easton Wiggins, Kansas; Jay Miller, Rejoice Christian

Offensive Lineman of the Year: Lonnie Berridge, Kansas; Jake Long, Adair

Tight End of the Year: Chace Condit, Adair

Defensive Lineman of the Year: Reese Rumsey, Sequoyah; Connor Hesterly, Kansas

Defensive End of the Year: Gabe Smoke, Adair

Inside Linebacker of the Year: Trey Burks, Sequoyah; Seth Jackson, Sperry; Landon Rutherford, Salina; Jeremiah Harmon, Kansas; Caden Marley, Rejoice Christian

Outside Linebacker of the Year: Josh Harwell, Sequoyah; Hunter Bringardner, Adair; Caleb Reding, Kansas; Candry Cariker, Rejoice Christian

Defensive Back of the Year: Tyler Kruis, Sequoyah; Holden Yoder, Adair; Brayden Williams, Salina; Grady James, Rejoice Christian

Special Teams of the Year: Braxton Bulman, Sequoyah; Carter Back, Adair; Ben Brown, Rejoice Christian

Newcomer of the Year: Reece Jackson, Adair; Ty Lewis, Kansas; Conner Johnson, Salina

Injured Athlete of the Year: Kyle Seeley, Nowata; Lane Jackson, Adair

Coach of the Year: Rob Gilstrap, Adair

All-District (Sequoyah only): Cody Pennington (DB, WR), Logan Woody (DE), Tucker McClurg (LB), Malaki Zugelder (C), Hunter Bolay (OLB), Jacob Helt (DE)

Trending Video

Recommended for you