Verdigris was among the top teams in Class 3A for a second-consecutive year, and that success reaped several rewards in the District 3A-4 awards that were announced Tuesday.

Running back Alec James was voted as a Co-Offensive Most Valuable Player, and Evan Raines earned Co-Defensive MVP honors.

James helped the Cardinals average 36.9 points per game on the way to a state quarterfinals berth and a 9-2 record, rushing for 948 yards and 15 touchdowns on 122 carries (7.8 yards per carry) while also catching nine passes for 107 yards and a score. KT Owens of Central was the other Offensive MVP.

Raines — a 6-foot-3, 248-pound defensive lineman — was a force for the Verdigris defense that held opponents to 18.2 ppg. He tallied 60 tackles, 15 of which were for a loss, while causing and recovering two fumbles and recording five sacks with seven hurries.

Army commit Owen Ostroski of state champion Holland Hall was also designated as a Defensive MVP.

Here is a look at all the District 3A-4 awards:

District MVP: Wallace Clark, Holland Hall

Co-Offensive MVP: Alec James, Verdigris; KT Owens, Central

Co-Defensive MVP: Evan Raines, Verdigris; Owen Ostroski, Holland Hall


Quarterbacks: Landon Prows, Inola; Jake Miller, Berryhill

Running back: Gabe Brown, Vinita

Fullback: Skyler Melcher, Mannford

Wide receivers: Dalton Norman, Inola; Marc Gouldsbey, Holland Hall

Tight end: Josh Chambers, Berryhill

Centers: Jax Ridenour, Verdigris; Hunter Mounce, Central

Guards: Jake Braman, Verdigris; Jace Starling, Berryhill

Tackle: Johnny Williamson, Jay


Safeties: Kaleson Marshall, Verdigris; Lorne Kirk, Jay

Cornerback: Tanner Alexander, Berryhill

Inside linebackers: Joel Hamilton, Central; Sutton Spradlin, Berryhill

Outside linebacker: Carson Calvert, Verdigris

Defensive ends: Alek Hess, Verdigris; Brendon Stevens, Vinita

Interior lineman: Cameron Robinson, Holland Hall


Kickers/Punters: Price Ward, Vinita; Oscar Lylya, Jay

Ironmen: Hayden Jones, Verdigris; Jackson Knight, Berryhill

Comeback players: Charlie Goddard, Holland Hall; Josiah Stevens, Berryhill

Coach of the Year: Tag Gross, Holland Hall


Verdigris: Carson Cook, Tyler Bowers, Zander Kirby

Inola: Trey Maple, Josh Keller, Garrett Cummins, Zack Albert, Dalton Diacon

Vinita: Tyson Starks

Central: Dayton James, Dayton Burkhalter

Holland Hall: Matt Doyle, Noah Shepherd, Joe Hall, Brenden Terry

Trending Video

Recommended for you