Kenneth Murray

Oklahoma linebacker Kenneth Murray celebrates his sack of UCLA quarterback Dorian Thompson-Robinson last week at Owen Field. Murray recorded zero tackles the previous week. (Kyle Phillips / The Transcript)

Kenneth Murray's name was added to another preseason watch list on Tuesday.

The Football Writers Association of America named the Oklahoma linebacker to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy watch list.

The award is annually given to college football's top defensive player and voted on by the FWAA All-America Committee.

Murray joins Big 12 foes Jordyn Brooks (Texas Tech), Jeff Gladney (TCU), A.J. Green (Oklahoma State), Wyatt Hubert (Kansas State), Clay Johnston (Baylor), Brandon Jones (Texas) and Caden Sterns (Texas) on the list.

Murray also made The Butkus Award watch list, given to the nation's top linebacker, and was voted the Big 12's preseason Defensive Player of the Year.

Visit for the complete Nagurski Trophy watch list.

Joe Buettner is a sports reporter for the Norman Transcript. You can contact him at (405) 366-3557 or

Recommended for you