HORNING: Pitch perfect Murray reveals character moments after making history

AP Photo/Craig Ruttle

Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray, winner of the Heisman Trophy, looks at the award Saturday, Dec. 8, 2018, in New York.

Kyler Murray claimed the Big 12 conference male athlete of the year award, giving the honor to Oklahoma quarterbacks in back-to-back years.

Last season, Murray won the Heisman Trophy and was selected No. 1 overall in the NFL Draft. A year earlier OU's Baker Mayfield did the same, in winning the award alongside OU women's gymnastics star Maggie Nichols. Sooner gymnast Brenna Dowell was up for the award in 2018-19. 

Texas heptathlon national champion Ashtin Zamzow won the Big 12 female athlete of the year honor. 

Big 12 schools submit nominees, who are selected based on athletic performance, academic achievement and citizenship, by a media panel and online fan voting.

Murray was the first FBS player to average at least 300 passing yards (311.5) and 60 rushing yards (71.5) per game for an entire season. The Allen, Texas native was just the second FBS player to accumulate at least 4,000 passing yards and 1,000 rushing in a season.

Murray's is OU's sixth Big 12 male athlete of the year winner and 11th for both awards.

Here are the past winners with those from OU in bold: 

Big 12 Athletes of the Year

2018-19Ashtin Zamzow, TexasKyler Murray, Oklahoma
2017-18Maggie Nichols, OklahomaBaker Mayfield, Oklahoma
2016-17Kadeisha Buchanan, West VirginiaFran Mason III, Kansas & Will Licon, Texas
2015-16Paige Parker, OklahomaBuddy Hield, Oklahoma
2014-15Lauren Chamberlain, OklahomaTyler Lockett, Kansas State
2013-14Odyssey Sims, BaylorBryce Petty, Baylor
2012-13Keilani Ricketts, OklahomaCollin Klein, Kansas State
2011-12Brittney Griner, BaylorRobert Griffin III, Baylor
2010-11Jessica Beard, Texas A&MTaylor Jungmann, Texas
2009-10Lisa Koll, Iowa StateNdamukong Suh, Nebraska
2008-09Destinee Hooker, TexasSam Bradford, Oklahoma
2007-08Sarah Pavan, NebraskaChase Daniel, Missouri
2006-07Sarah Pavan, NebraskaBen Askren, Missouri
2005-06Cat Osterman, TexasVince Young, Texas
2004-05Cat Osterman, TexasDerrick Johnson, Texas
2003-04Nichole Ohlde, Kansas StateJason White, Oklahoma
2002-03Cat Osterman, TexasNick Collison, Kansas
2001-02Stacey Dales, OklahomaCael Sanderson, Iowa State
2000-01Greichaly Cepero, NebraskaJosh Heupel, Oklahoma
1999-00Erin Aldrich, TexasCharles Howell, Oklahoma State
1998-99Suziann Reid, TexasRicky Williams, Texas
1997-98Vera Ilyina, TexasGrant Wistrom, Nebraska
1996-97Nanceen Perry, TexasJacque Vaughn, Kansas

Recommended for you